Inside out.

Hello there, thanks for popping by…

I don’t know about you, but I’ve always been the sort of person who is fascinated by what goes on ‘behind the scenes’… Let me explain…

As a young person I loved the Theatre, Plays, Amateur Dramatics and particularly Musical Threatre (Les Miserables, I’m looking at you!) My poor parents! The living room ceiling shook to the strains of ‘Do you hear the people sing’ and One day more’… the volume was always turned up to as far as I could get away with without somebody banging on the ceiling! 😂

But the point is, whilst I loved the music, what really fascinated me was what was going on in the Wings…I always used to book my seat so that I had a clear view of Stage Left or Right. I was intrigued by the dynamics of what we weren’t ‘meant to see’.. the Actors waiting to come on stage, the ropes, pulleys and the lighting… People dressed all in black to move the Scenery around, ect…

That curiosity has never left me but now I apply it to my Crafting life. I love to see a finished project as much as the next person, but what I adore is the very ‘bones’ of a project.. pictures taken of the road map of getting from A to B!

My phone is full of such pictures! I’ll pull some out at random to show you…

As you can see, it isn’t ‘insta’ or Facebook ready, just a gentle reminder of how I see things going at that moment in time.

Here’s another…

This was taken last September when I was starting to think about my Christmas projects. As it turned out, I hardly worked on this at all, because my red and white hexi quilt got all the attention…

I still haven’t finished it and probably won’t even this year, as it will only come out in September and go away again in January. It will be finished though… eventually!

Today I was working on a gift for my lovely Cousin, it’s going to be a cushion cover when it’s finished but as I was stitching, the back of the fabric was facing me and I realised I loved that side of it as much as the front…

In the days before pre cut papers (which I have used here.) people used old letters or shopping lists to make their templates.

I once knew a lady who was making a Quilt for a significant Anniversary… she used some of the love letters her Husband had written to her when they were first Courting, which I thought was just the loveliest idea! (but I have to admit I would get side tracked whilst cutting them out, because I would be trying to read what had been written and my Quilt would probably NEVER get finished! 🤣)

I’m really curious to see what you think… do you like the ‘Process’ photos or are you happy just to see pictures of the finished project?

If you’d like to, comment below because I would love to hear your views!

In the meantime, I’m going to get back to sewing those yellow hexi’s together and I also have a pair of Scrappy socks to finish this week…

I hope that whatever you’re doing, where ever this finds you, you are able to make time for a little Crafting…

Until the next time, take care,

Debbie. x

Leave a comment