In Celebration of PI…..

Hello there, thanks for stopping by……

A week or so ago, I  decided  that the thing I most wanted to knit in the whole wide world was a Shawl. Not any old shawl by the way, but a fine lace, ‘cob web’, gossamer, type shawl. Never mind that I had socks to finish or sleeves to complete in order to have my first ‘proper’ sweater ready for sewing up….no, they faded (for a time..) into distant memory. A Shawl was what my heart truly desired!

After a false start or two…OK, honestly, it was a weekend of false starts, but who’s counting?? I was finally steered, after much online admiration of a Shawl that was almost finished and then blew my heart away….to PI.

Those of you familiar with knitting, might recognize the name, it appears to be an almost’ rite of passage’ amongst some knitters….

Elizabeth Zimmermann’s  PI Shawl- I’m not remotely mathematical, so am not even going to attempt to explain how and why it all works…. the clue is in the name… BUT….the pattern?  Oh my, the pattern is everything I dreamed of…my needles, which are 3.50 mm feel like they are floating on the air, and the yarn is Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace in a mossy green colour.277

The pattern is easy to read and understand if you’ve done any circular knitting, and is soothing and therapeutic to work, although I don’t recommend you attempt it if noise and chaos abound! Choose somewhere quiet…. To begin with, it doesn’t look like much and all the stitches are squished around the small cable, but if you look carefully, you can just start to see the beginning of the lace pattern emerging….It has been love at first sight! Of course, I couldn’t forget about the socks and sleeves…they are due to be worn in Scotland at the end of May…so I’d better get a ‘shimmy’ on….276

So many things are hungry for my attention!

 

279

So until next time…..

Debbie

 

2 thoughts on “In Celebration of PI…..

Leave a comment